Banging sound when accelerating into a turn

TruckTrip

So I have read all the threads on the Dana 44 going out and this made me suspect when this banging started. When I accelerate aggressively from a stop and turn at the same time I get a loud banging sound, anywhere from one to four bangs. By aggressively I am talking about turning into traffic from a parking lot not spinning the tires. I decided to do a visual inspection of the rear end before laying out the bucks. I was somewhat surprised to find a intact, thought worn set of gears. (see pics) Being a carpenter and not a mechanic I was hoping that someone with more experience could give me some ideas. Do these gears look shot? What else might be the cause of the banging?

[attachment=9788][attachment=9789]

Attachments

BLWedge09

Administrator
I'm no expert on gears, but I don't see anything there that looks like it would be causing the problem you've described. Those gears look pretty good to me. How many miles on the truck?

You wouldn't happen to have the Utili-track system in your truck bed would you? It sounds strange, but I know some people have been fooled by the sound of one of those cleats sliding and banging at odd times during acceleration or braking.

honeykeeper

[quote name='TruckTrip' timestamp='1325817384' post='162095']

So I have read all the threads on the Dana 44 going out and this made me suspect when this banging started. When I accelerate aggressively from a stop and turn at the same time I get a loud banging sound, anywhere from one to four bangs. By aggressively I am talking about turning into traffic from a parking lot not spinning the tires. I decided to do a visual inspection of the rear end before laying out the bucks. I was somewhat surprised to find a intact, thought worn set of gears. (see pics) Being a carpenter and not a mechanic I was hoping that someone with more experience could give me some ideas. Do these gears look shot? What else might be the cause of the banging?